Love Yourself

Love Yourself

Accept me for who I am
For I have no need to be
What you may want
Not my responsibility

Take things I say to you
Directly to your heart
It’s where the truth was born
From the very start

Don’t allow your vision
Cloud your inner self
For insight has a way
Of giving soulful wealth

There may be things in this life
We may not will to be so
May not like the sun so hot
Or the way the wind does blow

But just like we may not like that
It never was our choice to make
Be the change needed in the world
But we should start today

You may not like something’s I say
But I will tell you just like this
I never lived my life for you
My will was always His

For when you disagree
Judge by shaking your head
Remember the hearts’ an open book
When’s the last time you read?

Judge not want not
A tall order no doubt
But live for this moment
Never do without

If I am somehow displeasing
To your eyes or to your ears
Remember I’m precious to God
Let’s be perfectly clear

I will leave you with this thought
I love you no matter what you do
Maybe it’s time you started
To love yourself too

8 thoughts on “Love Yourself”

  1. This is BEAUTIFUL! Especially…

    “If I am somehow displeasing
    To your eyes or to your ears
    Remember I’m precious to God
    Let’s be perfectly clear”

    Thanks!

  2. I think your voice is clear as well as your message. I wrote a poem like it a couple of weeks ago..well not just like it, but the message is similar. Yours includes more and has the flavor and nuance of your own voice. If you care to read it, it’s here: http://beachanny.blogspot.com/2012/05/balancing.html
    and mine for this week is here http://hollyheir.wordpress.com/2012/06/25/the-empress-of-peace/#comments – I think we have sympathetic sensibilities. Enjoyed this very much.

Leave a Reply

